Leading wins (2 or more) 

The Classic TT may have only got underway on 2013 but those four years have seen numerous race winners crowned across the classes which have included the Senior (500cc), Junior (350cc), Lightweight (250cc), Superbike, Formula One and Formula Two.

Five riders have currently taken more than one race win but its Michael Dunlop that leads the way on four wins, his victories coming in the 2013 F1, 2015 Superbike, 2016 Superbike and 2016 Junior races. Riding for Steve Wheatman’s Classic Suzuki team, Dunlop’s F1 and Superbike wins were taken on the 1100cc XR69 replica where he currently holds the lap record at close to an astonishing 127mph.

His Junior win came riding a 350cc MV Agusta although the ride was originally earmarked for 2014 Junior race winner and lap record holder Lee Johnston. But when he got injured at the Ulster Grand Prix, Dunlop stepped in and got the better of Michael Rutter after a race long duel.

Victory in the 2017 Lightweight race moved Bruce Anstey onto three wins, and it came in record-breaking style as he became the first rider to lap the 37 and ¾-mile Mountain Course at more than 120mph on a 250cc machine after a scintillating lap of 120.475mph.

PACEMAKER, BELFAST, 29/8/2016: Michael Dunlop (Black Eagle MV Agusta) celebrates winning the 350cc race at the Classic TT today with runner up Michael Rutter and third placed Alan Oversby. PICTURE BY STEPHEN DAVISON

PACEMAKER, BELFAST, 29/8/2016: Michael Dunlop (Black Eagle MV Agusta) celebrates winning the 350cc race at the Classic TT today with runner up Michael Rutter and third placed Alan Oversby.

That followed on from his successes in the same race in 2016 and the Formula One race in 2014. He finished second in the latter twice as well, continuing to set records, his lap of 127.496mph on the Padgetts YZR500 Yamaha in the 2017 race the fastest ever lap around the Mountain Course for a two-stroke machine.

He’s tied on three wins with Dean Harrison, an ever-present at the event, who took his third victory in the 2017 Superbike race, this following on from his success in the 2013 Formula Classic and 2015 Senior races.

Three riders have taken two wins, Chris Palmer taking a brace in 2013 (Junior Classic and Formula Two) and Ian Lougher doing similar in 2014, this time in the Senior and Formula Two races.. Michael Rutter joined them on two wins in 2017 when he won the Junior Classic for a second time, having previously won it in 2015.

Olie Linsdell, Jonathan Cutts, Lee Johnston, Ryan Kneen, John McGuinness and Josh Brookes have all taken a win apiece since 2013.

1.Michael Dunlop4 (2015 – 2016)
2.Bruce Anstey3 (2014 – 2017)
=Dean Harrison3 (2013 – 2017)
4.Chris Palmer2 (2013)
=Ian Lougher2 (2014)
=Michael Rutter2 (2015 – 2017)

Leading Podiums (2 or more)

When it comes to podiums at the Classic TT, it’s Bruce Anstey who leads the way on six, the Kiwi having first stood on the podium in 2014, taking third place in the Senior on Ken McIntosh’s Manx Norton. Two days later he grabbed his first win with victory in the F1 race and a year later he took second place in the same race with his fourth podium coming in the 2016 Lightweight race which he led from start to finish. 2017 saw him add two more rostrums to his collection with another win in the Lightweight race and second in the Superbike.

Next up with five podiums is Ian Lougher who took a brace of wins in 2014, the Senior and Formula Two, before taking another second place in the 2015 Senior race where he was again riding a 500cc Paton. His fourth podium came in 2016 when he took second place behind Anstey in the Lightweight race and he repeated this result in 2017 for podium number five.

Bruce Anstey at the Manx GP 2017

Three riders have four podiums with all four of Michael Dunlop’s being race wins, three on an 1100cc XR69 Suzuki and one on a 350cc MV Agusta. Dean Harrison also has four podiums with three wins to his name – the 2013 Formula Classic, 2015 Senior and 2017 Superbike – and a second place in the 2016 Senior race.

Michael Rutter is the third rider with four podiums to his name, all of them coming since 2015. He’s taken two victories in the Junior class, in 2015 and 2017, with a second place in 2016 whilst second was also the end result in the 2016 Superbike race. He also ‘finished’ on the podium in the 2017 Lightweight but was later disqualified from second place due to an oversized fuel tank.

Three riders have three podiums

Three riders have three podiums with William Dunlop taking a brace in the Senior class, in 2013 and 2017, and another in the 2016 Superbike race. Lee Johnston took victory in the 2014 Junior race before following this up with third in the 2015 Senior and second in the 2017 Junior, all three being taken on MV Agusta machinery.

Jamie Coward is the third rider with three podiums, his first coming in the 2013 Senior when he finished third. He went one better in the same race of 2017, when he set the fastest ever lap of the Mountain Course by a British single cylinder machine, and then took another third in the 2017 Junior.

Six riders on two podiums

No less than six riders have taken two podiums thus far with Chris Palmer taking two wins in the inaugural 2013 event before retiring from racing. Dan Cooper took second in the 2013 Junior and 2014 Senior races and has been unlucky not to have won a race so far with James Cowton’s runner up positions both coming on a 250cc Yamaha.

Ryan Kneen took a good third in the 2013 F1 race on an OW01 Yamaha before showing his versatility with victory in the 2015 F2 race where he just got the better of Cowton.

The other double podium finishers haven’t yet taken a win, these being Alan Oversby who claimed second and third in the 2014 and 2016 Junior races respectively, and Phil McGurk who also has a second and third to his name in the 2013 Formula Two and 2015 Junior races.

Despite the event only having been running for five years, an additional twenty two riders have taken a single podium apiece which is perhaps an indication of the fickle nature of the older machines and how just finishing is an achievement!




1.Bruce Anstey6 (2014 – 2017)
2.Ian Lougher5 (2014 – 2017)
3.Michael Dunlop4 (2013 – 2017)
=Dean Harrison4 (2013 – 2017)
=Michael Rutter3 (2015 – 2017)
=William Dunlop3 (2013 – 2017)
=Jamie Coward3 (2013 – 2017)
=Lee Johnston3 (2014 – 2017)
9.Chris Palmer2 (2013)
=Daniel Cooper2 (2013 – 2014)
=James Cowton2 (2013 – 2015)
=Phil McGurk2 (2013 – 2015)
=Ryan Kneen2 (2013 – 2015)
=Alan Oversby2 (2014 – 2016)

Lap Records

Senior Classic – John McGuinness (500 Paton) – 19m58.394s – 113.342mph (2016)

Junior Classic – Lee Johnston (350 MV Agusta) – 21m30.660s – 105.239mph (2014)

250cc Classic – Ewan Hamilton (250cc Suzuki) – 23m36.186s – 95.911mph (2013)

Superbike Classic – Bruce Anstey – 17m45.348s – 127.348mph (2017)

Lightweight Classic – Bruce Anstey (250 Honda) – 18m47.438s – 120.475mph (2017)

Formula Classic – Dean Harrison (750 BSA) – 21m18.797s – 106.215mph (2013)

Race Records (all four laps)

Senior Classic – John McGuinness (500 Paton) – 1hr21m10.189s – 111.559mph (2016)

Junior Classic – Michael Dunlop (350 MV Agusta) – 1hr27m51.735s – 103.061mph (2016)

250cc Classic – Jonathan Cutts (250 Suzuki) – 1hr37m13.323s – 93.139mph (2013)

Superbike Classic – Dean Harrison (750 Kawasaki) – 1hr12m32.932s – 124.815mph (2017)

Lightweight Classic – Bruce Anstey (250 Honda) – 1hr16m50.072s – 117.853mph (2016)

Formula Classic – Dean Harrison (750 BSA) – 1hr28m06.283s  – 102.778mph (2013)