NN12 8TN


A former site of a World War II Royal Air Force bomber station, Silverstone in Northamptonshire was first used for racing in 1947. Five years later, the start line was moved from the Farm Straight to the straight linking Woodcote and Copse corners, and this layout remained largely unaltered for the following 38 years. And when the Isle of Man TT no longer became suitable for the British motorcycle Grand Prix, it moved to Silverstone, who had been running a top flight International meeting for a number of years, in 1977.

The circuit hosted the GP until 1986 and was one of the fastest on the calendar with Kenny Roberts’ lap record in 1983 close to an average of 120mph. The racing was of the highest order with the 250cc and 350cc GP races often seeing up to ten riders disputing the win. The circuit then went under numerous layout changes as F1 took over and it took some time before top flight motorbike racing was consistently back at Silverstone. It reclaimed the British GP from Donington Park in 2010 and also hosts a round of the British Superbike Championship every year.

Take a view from the sky of the whole of Silverstone…

Current Lap Records

Outright/Superbike: James Ellison (1000 Kawasaki) – 2m05.267s – 105.39mph – 04/10/15

Supersport: Luke Stapleford (675 Triumph) – 2m08.571s – 102.68mph – 03/10/15

Superstock 1000: Jason O’Halloran (1000 Honda) – 2m07.798s – 103.80mph – 31/08/14

Superstock 600: Andy Reid (600 Yamaha) – 2m12.060s – 99.97mph – 05/10/14

Moto 3/125cc: Scott Deroue (250 KTM) – 2m17.574s – 95.96mph – 04/10/15

Ducati Cup: Leon Morris (848 Ducati) – 2m12.958s – 99.29mph – 03/10/15

KTM Cup: Cameron Fraser (390 KTM) – 2m34.626s – 85.38mph – 04/10/15